Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Add custom fields to activity stream

• Nick
    Participant

@nhoover

I’d like to add fields to the activity stream. I’m a relatively new coder so any help would be appreciated.

I have studied this post and copied it to a tee but can’t seem to get it to work properly.

http://buddypress.org/community/groups/creating-extending/forum/topic/adding-a-second-element-for-posting-with-an-activity/?topic_page=1&num=15

What I am looking to do is to have 6 fields to every activity post: Post Title; Description; Make; Price; Model; and Location.

I have added the fields to the form in the post-form.php as so.

`

@

<input type="submit" name="aw-whats-new-submit" id="aw-whats-new-submit" value="” />

`

It looks great. Next I added this to my functions.

`/**
    * This captures additional info at update.
    */
    function add_equipmentmeta_to_activity( $content, $user_id, $activity_id ) {
    bp_activity_update_meta( $activity_id, ‘equip’, ($_POST) );
    }

add_action( ‘bp_activity_posted_update’, ‘add_equipmentmeta_to_activity’, 10, 3 );

function my_equipmentmeta() {
    $my_equipmentmeta = bp_activity_get_meta( bp_get_activity_id(), ‘equip’ );
    //if (is_user_logged_in()) : {
    echo ‘(‘ . $my_equipmentmeta . ‘)‘;
    //}
    //endif;
    }
    add_action( ‘bp_activity_entry_meta’, ‘my_equipmentmeta’ );`

Which was based on the previous post I mentioned above. I have been testing the ‘add_post_model’ to see if I could get just one to work.

Lastly I changed the global.js like this.

`/* Default POST values */
    var object = ”;
    var item_id = jq(“#whats-new-post-in”).val();
    var content = jq(“textarea#whats-new”).val();
    var title = jq(“input#add_post_title”).val();
    var make = jq(“input#add_post_make”).val();
    var model = jq(“input#add_post_model”).val();
    var price = jq(“input#add_post_price”).val();
    var location = jq(“input#add_post_location”).val();

/* Set object for non-profile posts */