Categories
Search
Bottom

Child Theme Question from Super Noob

• Rebecca Geiger
    Participant

@rebeccageiger

Good Day!
    Thank You for takin the time to read/watch my question… my question.
    I am a super noob and am not familiar with coding css.
    I created a quick video to explain what step I am unsure about or am missing.
    I clearly don’t understand the first step in creating a child theme.. if you could explain how/where I create a style.css file inside of my “new”child theme… I would really appreciate it immensely!
    here is the video explaining my child troubles :)
    http://www.screencast.com/users/becube/folders/Jing/media/76d7903b-18d0-46da-a68e-e8969c46d7de

If you could clarify what it is that I am doing wrong.. I will send you BIG E-HUGS!

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)

• r-a-y
    Keymaster

@r-a-y

Hi Rebecca,

Create the style.css with the information found in the guide locally on your computer, then upload it to your /wp-content/themes/shuswapsocialnetwork/ directory.

Once you’ve done this, you should be able to select this new theme under “Appearance > Themes” in the WP admin area.

Rebecca Geiger
    Participant

@rebeccageiger

Thank You R-A-Y…
    I appreciate your answer. Perhaps do I build this in a text editor? I apologize for my noobness .. all I have is iweb on my mac and I am not sure how to edit in iweb for css…
    p.s Big E-hugs for you! (+)

r-a-y
    Keymaster

@r-a-y

Yes, use a text editor to fill in your style.css. Basically copy the example CSS from the child theme article and modify it to suit your needs. Appreciate the e-hug! :)

pcwriter
    Participant

@pcwriter

@Rebecca

Try Arachnophilia from http://www.arachnoid.com/arachnophilia/
    You can edit pretty much anything with it.

As for a child theme, here’s one way of thinking about it: the style.css file IS your child theme. Well, the skeleton anyway; the rest is muscle.