Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Creating links to profile pages

• stargirl2
    Participant

@stargirl2

Hi there, I’m a newbie to BP and so far most things have been fairly self-explanatory but I’m running into a bit of an issue creating a link from my homepage that will go to the member’s logged in profile page. I know this has been discussed before but either I’m missing something or the solutions offered aren’t really solving my problem. My issue is that I am trying to modify the Sidebar Login widget for wordpress (http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/sidebar-login/) to work with my bp profile and I can’t figure out how to get the profile link to take users to the bp profile rather than the backend admin page. In the tools section for the widget, there is a field in which I enter the links, and I’ve been testing:

< a href=”http://www.techettes.com/&lt;?php echo the_author_login(); ?>/”>Profile< /a>

< a href=”<?php echo bp_core_get_userurl($bp[‘loggedin_userid’]) ?>activity/my-friends”>Your Friends Activity< /a>

but am taken to the URL:

http://www.example.com/?php%20echo%20the_author_login;%20?/

and

http://example.com/&lt;?php%20echo%20bp_core_get_userurl($bp[‘loggedin_userid’])%20?>activity/my-friends

I would be very grateful for any help here!

Alternately, if someone could suggest a sidebar login widget that works better with BP, that would be appreciated as well!

Viewing 16 replies - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • I am not familiar with this widget, but I imagine it has a text box where you write what you want to appear in your sidebar. The problem is, that sort of input is protected against malicious attacks or accidents; it escapes javascript and php.

This is the problem. You need to find a diff way of doing this :)

stargirl2
    Participant

@stargirl2

Darn, I was very much hoping that wouldn’t be the answer. Alright, thanks for that, better to know that struggling with it :).

Cheers!

Scotm
    Participant

@scotm