Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

I want to remove the logout link from the sidebar

• I know there is a discussion about that, but it is marked resolved.

My site is at its final stages and I am so scared that I mess it up. So please if someone can tell me exactly where I find the function and how to remove it without removing my whole site :-) I would be so thankful.

Please remember that I am an absolute newbie and don’t always understand the php and programmers jargon. I need to be spoon fed :-)

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Thanks, I solved the problem. I removed the

div in brackets

jonnycardel

@jonnycardel

I Have the same problem…help please

@mercime
    Keymaster

@mercime

@jonnycardel if you’re using a child theme of bp-default, then copy over sidebar.php from bp-default theme to child theme folder. If it’s only the Log Out link you want to delete, then delete this line from your sidebar.php
    `<a class="button logout" href="”>`

jonnycardel

@jonnycardel

thanks that works fantastic although i thought the avitar was part of it, so now i´ll look for that.
    wish me luck. it tuck days to get rid of log out thanks to your help, theres no way i would of found or understand what i was looking at if i had as i dont understane php.
    thanks again

@mercime
    Keymaster

@mercime

@jonnycardel so you want to delete that whole section with the avatar, login, AND logout? Open up sidebar.php https://trac.buddypress.org/browser/tags/1.2.6/bp-themes/bp-default/sidebar.php starting at line 8 where Is_user_logged_in to line 56 with php endif; deals with the avatars, login and logout. If you do not want them, delete the block.

fpats
    Participant

@fpats

Hi, i realise this is an old thread but since it was the first google result i thought it best to reply here and maybe someone else will benefit too.