Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

[Resolved] Importing/copying a buddypress mirror locally using MAMP

• victor_moura
    Participant

@victor_moura

I’m new to Buddypress and would like first to make changes in my machine to be sure everything looks right and provide a better user experience. I do not like editing “live” my theme, plugins and updates because I always have users online.

So MAMP seemed a good option to run a local server on my MacBook.

What I did was to install MAMP and then do a new wordpress install and add the buddypress plugin to this install which started from zero. This is my lab where I test different themes and plugins.

There are a few problems however:

1) This local MAMP version is different from what I currently have online. So my changes almost never look the same.

2) Starting from zero, I was not able to import my Buddypress groups, forums, user data. The maximum I got was the import of a few blog posts (but not the forum, where all the content is)

I wonder if you can help me.

Is there a good way to import my current buddypress to my local machine? I’d like to have a carbon copy, a mirror of the current website…

Thanks

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • I work with local mirrors on MAMP Pro. This is what I do :

1. Copy the remote files (the whole install) to my local machine (I do this so the file creation dates are the same).
    2. Backup the remote database with phpMyAdmin (be sure to select Add DROP TABLE) as a gzip file.
    3. Edit the local copy of wp-config.php for my local machine’s database connection.
    4. Create a new local database and import the remote backup (I personally always destroy the local db and create a new empty one to import into – then I know it’s clean).
    5. Use this tool to change all absolute URLs from remote to local: http://spectacu.la/search-and-replace-for-wordpress-databases/