Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

is there a how to guide anywhere?

• Installation is error free. I can’t see how to add a new post – or should the users be of a certain level to post – Ihve them joining as members?
    I have installed forums, error free, now on page and no refence to how to set one up any where – any one got any screen shots?
    There are some great posts here and I have found a lot of answers and when I find solutions / answers to soem of the other stuff I promise to let you know.

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• yocalif
    Participant

@yocalif

drclohite, I have had your same issues, and have read the same posts on multiple bp forums.
    Adding some of the BP forum plugins helps but not much. Funny I’m a total wp/bp noob and I’m going to try and help another lost bp soul.
    It appears Forums are dependent on Groups, so you have to first create group.
    • Using the default BP theme, click on Groups under the search thing.
    • It says “Groups Directory” click on “Create A Group”
    • Give the Group a name and description, and click “Create Group and Continue”
    • Default is “Public Group” thats fine for now, click “Next Step”
    • If you have an avatar for the group upload it otherwise click “Next Step”
    • Now click “Finish”
    • If you post something in that comment box after clicking finish, I don’t know but it doesn’t appear in the forum, it will only appear in the activity for group 4
    • Go to Forums, click create new topic, there is a pull down selection for groups, select the group you just created. and post.
    Click on the Forum Tab again, and you will see your post listed. Unlike the BP Support forum which gives you a choice of “show latest post, or “By Group” (that must be a plug in). You will see the column with the group name, click on the group name and you there is your “new post” page.

Hope that helps…..

6.5 hours and no one offered to help this guy. Amazing….