Categories
Search
Bottom

JQuery Issues

• absticles
    Participant

@absticles

Hey there.

I’m a newbie to Buddypress and I’m developing a child theme for it.

I’m having some issues with JQuery. I’m trying to create a simple slideshow using the help from this tutorial http://www.deadmarshes.com/Blog/jQuery%20Slideshow.html but I can’t seem to get the JS to work!

In my header.php file I’ve tried every type of script I can think of. Currenty I have the jQuery file in MYTHEME_incjsjquery.js and in my header.php file I have the script location as php bloginfo(‘template_directory’) /_inc/js/jquery.js">
    I’ve tried ‘template_url’ and ‘stylesheet_directory’ and neither of those work either. I’ve also deactivated other plugins to see if there was a JavaScript conflict but no such luck. Not really sure where I’m going wrong!

Hope someone can help!

Thanks.
    Abi

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• absticles
    Participant

@absticles

Ps. I know that php code is wrong, I just don’t know how to display code in these forums!

absticles
    Participant

@absticles

Can anyone help with this? Sorry, it’s probably a really simple solution!

Boone Gorges
    Keymaster

@boonebgorges

Is your problem that the javascript isn’t loading?

The best way to include the script is with https://codex.wordpress.org/Function_Reference/wp_enqueue_script.

You could also just edit the header.php file of your theme to include a script tag.

add this to functions.php

function my_init() {
    if (!is_admin()) {
    wp_deregister_script(‘jquery’);
    // load the local copy of jQuery in the footer
    // wp_register_script(‘jquery’, ‘/wp-includes/js/jquery/jquery.js’, false, ‘1.3.2’, true);
    // or load the Google API copy in the footer
    // wp_register_script(‘jquery’, ‘http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js’, false, ‘1.4.2’, true);

wp_enqueue_script(‘jquery’);
    }
    }
    add_action(‘init’, ‘my_init’);