Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Moved template files around FTP website blank page

• JLent.
    Participant

@jloc14

Hello, I am new to WordPress and Buddypress and am having a little trouble. I can’t access my dashboard to tell you what versions I’m running. The other day I was trying to move template files to update the Buddypress packet. I’m using Filezilla and I moved some files around and now my website is blank. I’d appreciate any feedback thank you.

Viewing 12 replies - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)

• @mercime
    Keymaster

@mercime

@jloc14
    – Backup then delete the BP template folders in your active WP theme folder in server.
    – Re-upload your WP theme.
    – Then re-run Appearance > BP Compatibility and go through the process to get clean BP template files.

JLent.
    Participant

@jloc14

Ok thank you, I’m not 100% sure how to do all that but I will try.

JLent.
    Participant

@jloc14

I checked with someone else and they’re having trouble with it too do you think you can explain? I really appreciate it.

@mercime
    Keymaster

@mercime

@jloc14 first of all, what template files were you moving? Remember that you need to strictly follow the directory structure of the BP template files within your theme folder. For example, you cannot move /members/single/activity/permalink.php to /members/single/permalink.php nor to groups/permalink.php

JLent.
    Participant

@jloc14

In my dashboard, to update the buddypress plugin the next step was to move the template files as in each page, register, members, groups, forums, etc. I uploaded the files and moved those folders somewhere and now I don’t see them. In /public_html/wp-content/themes I only see smallbiz, twentyeleven,twentyten, and index.php folders.

@mercime
    Keymaster

@mercime

== In my dashboard, to update the buddypress plugin ==