Categories
Search
Bottom

NEW install of BP Press – Can't post any topics in forum

• rossagrant
    Participant

@rossagrant

Hi guys,

I’m very new to BP, just installed the plugin on a fesh insatll of WP tonight.

I have created my first group and now want to create a forum topic for that group.

I click on Forums and the ‘New Topic’. From here a drop down appears where I can name the topic and put in a description. I then select the topic to be posted in my only group from the drop down list and click Post Topic.

Unfortunately the topic isn’t posted. Instead I am taken back to the forums main page and given the same default message ‘Sorry, there were no forum topics found.’ which was there before I attempted to post my topic.

Any ideas? It just doesn’t seem to be saving the topic anywhere.

As I said I’m very new too so aren’t the most technical yet, please be gentle.

Thanks in advance.

Ross :)

Viewing 21 replies - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)

• motionsw
    Participant

@motionsw

I am having the same problem, would love to hear some answers.

John James Jacoby
    Keymaster

@johnjamesjacoby

Have you gone through the bbPress installation process in your wp-admin yet?

rossagrant
    Participant

@rossagrant

Yep, I went through the 2 click set up. It says it has installed and should be okay but I can’t post ANY topics at all???

kingez

@kingez

having the same problem :(

photodesign
    Participant

@photodesign

I’m having similar problems – when I post I get the red bar that says “”There was an error creating this topic”

Do you get an error or just the redirect?

rossagrant
    Participant

@rossagrant

Right guys, I reinstalled everything and in general settings in admin changed the content link from the default addresss to the absolute url, eg http://www.mysite.com/wp-content/uploads before trying to post a thing.

I also changed perma links to ‘Day and name’

All seems to work.

Let me know how you get on.

photodesign
    Participant