Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

1.5 Child Theme Not Working

• alanchrishughes
    Participant

@alanchrishughes

I’ve never tried creating a child theme before but I was checking out 1.5 last night and followed this tutorial on making one http://codex.buddypress.org/theme-development/building-a-buddypress-child-theme/

I created a new folder in my regular WordPress themes folder titled “Buddypress Child” and create a new stylesheet with this at the top

/*
    Theme Name: BuddyPress Child
    Template: bp-default
    Tags: buddypress
    */

It shows up in the back-end and I select it as my theme, but any styles I set with it are just ignored.

Viewing 21 replies - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)

• @mercime
    Keymaster

@mercime

BP 1.5 now enqueues all stylesheets in functions.php. Therefore, to create your child theme, either remove the enqueueing by creating a new functions.php in child theme folder and adding this:
    `<?php
    if ( !function_exists( ‘bp_dtheme_enqueue_styles’ ) ) :
    function bp_dtheme_enqueue_styles() {}
    endif;
    ?>`

You could also opt to enqueue your child theme’s style.css by overriding bp-default’s pluggable function bp_dtheme_enqueue_styles with your own
    `if ( !function_exists( ‘bp_dtheme_enqueue_styles’ ) ) :
    function bp_dtheme_enqueue_styles() {
    // Bump this when changes are made to bust cache
    $version = ‘20110930’;
    // Register our main stylesheet
    wp_register_style( ‘mychildtheme-style’, get_stylesheet_directory_uri() . ‘/_inc/css/screen.css’, array(), $version );
    // Enqueue our main stylesheet
    wp_enqueue_style( ‘mychildtheme-style’ );
    }
    }
    add_action( ‘wp_print_styles’, ‘bp_dtheme_enqueue_styles’ );
    endif; `

If you’ve named your stylesheet, screen.css, then change /_inc/css/default.css above to /_inc/css/screen.css above

Boone Gorges
    Keymaster

@boonebgorges