Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Top
Bottom

Housekeeping after delete-acount

  • Avatar of henrywright
    henrywright
    Moderator

    @henrywright

    Does anyone know what is ‘cleaned up’ after a user deletes their account via members/username/settings/delete-account?

    I mean what gets removed?

    • their blog posts
    • their blog comments
    • their activity (comments, updates, favorites etc)
    • private messages
    • friend relationships
    • their avatar
    • anything else?

    I’m trying to come up with a list of how to improve housekeeping after users delete themselves.

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Avatar of @ubernaut
    Ben Hansen
    Participant

    @ubernaut

    i believe the blog posts are actually handled by wordpress (usually by re-assigning or deleting post by your choice). everything else besides private messages i believe get erased along with the user.

    Avatar of henrywright
    henrywright
    Moderator

    @henrywright

    I did notice that actually when you delete a user via the back-end you’re given the option to reassign or delete their posts. Not quite sure if delete post functionality is fired after a user deletes them self via the front-end. Will have to run some tests

    Avatar of @ubernaut
    Ben Hansen
    Participant

    @ubernaut

    i was wondering about that same thing as i was replying :)

    Avatar of ndh01
    ndh01
    Participant

    @ndh01

    Henry, did you find out an answer to your question? I tested that posts (in my case a few custom post types) do indeed get removed when a user removes their account. In my case, I would like to auto reassign to a different ID when a user deletes their account.

    Avatar of henrywright
    henrywright
    Moderator

    @henrywright

    Hi @ndh01

    In my case, I would like to auto reassign to a different ID when a user deletes their account.

    I think that functionality only happens when the member is deleted by the administrator in the WP dashboard. Posts aren’t reassigned if the member deletes their own account via the front end.

    Avatar of ndh01
    ndh01
    Participant

    @ndh01

    @henrywright
    I was hoping that there was a hook in either BP or WP that I could reassign the posts to but I can’t find anything.

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.