Categories
Search
Bottom

Use Forums without Groups?

• TobiasBg
    Participant

@tobiasbg

Hi,

I’m new to BuddyPress and just set up a test install of BP 1.2 on WP 2.9.2 (single).

Everything works fine, but there’s something that I could not figure out yet:

I would like to use the Forums component independently, i.e. without the Groups component.

I’m planning a private community and don’t want any groups, but just one main Forums section.

Has anybody done this before?

Thanks!

Tobias

Viewing 25 replies - 1 through 25 (of 44 total)
  • How about making a single group and then keep everything here. Silly workaround, i know.

There must be some way of using it without the group.

BTW why do you wanna use BuddyPress if you don’t want to use any of its feature. bbPress might be a better choice. Would like to hear from your side.

Discussed in this thread. You’ll have to install bbPress separately and integrate it with WordPress.

the other solution is to block others to create groups, and you as admin create as much groups as needed, with a forum for each, and disable all other features from it.

groups help subscribe to a forum, so people can participate freely and subscribe to receive news from it.

@nexia

How can group creation be restricted in 1.2 ?

@nexia – Wouldn’t that also eliminate anyone NOT in the specific group from being able to use the forum though?

@ashfame – I don’t think there is an option in BP. Searching I found this topic regarding a plugin, but it looks like it’s only partially effective as some people were posting that it was not allowing any group creation.

@Cyndy, nope actually, as we’re refering to creation, not usage…

btw, i bumped an old thread related to that exact situation, i know there was a plugin version for 1.1 that was doing that exact thing…

TobiasBg
    Participant

@tobiasbg

Hi,

thanks for the answers so far!