Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Top
Bottom

After installing , i add some profile fields but..

  • After installing , i add some profile fields but the profile won’t show after new signup and needs to fill up again their profile fields

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Avatar of Jeff Sayre
    Jeff Sayre
    Participant

    @jeffsayre

    Any profile fields you add after a user has registered will be blank until they go into their profile and add data to them. If you have set a profile field as “Required”, the next time a user edits their profile data, they will not be able to save their changes unless they have entered data into any required fields.

    Avatar of John James Jacoby
    John James Jacoby
    Keymaster

    @johnjamesjacoby

    The only fields that show up during registration are the ones in the main group, and even then they have to be marked as required. Any other profile fields won’t show up during registration, but just like Jeff said will need to be filled in.

    (Ironically enough, if you save your profile without all of the required fields filled in on the page, it still saves the data. Not sure if this is a bug or not, but I kind of like it like this actually.)

    I suspect in the future there will be more selections and features as to which fields to show on registration, etc…

    Avatar of Jeff Sayre
    Jeff Sayre
    Participant

    @jeffsayre

    Ironically enough, if you save your profile without all of the required fields filled in on the page, it still saves the data. Not sure if this is a bug or not, but I kind of like it like this actually

    John,

    I just tried editing a test user profile field in which a newly-created required field had not yet been modified by that user. I changed some data in a different field and when I clicked on “Save Changes”, I got a message stating that:

    There were problems saving your information. Please fix the following:
    "Allow this profile group to be seen by" cannot be left blank.

    In other words, since I had not entered data in this new required field, it would not let me save my changes.

    Avatar of John James Jacoby
    John James Jacoby
    Keymaster

    @johnjamesjacoby

    But, if you leave that screen and go back to it, the information gets saved. :) The activity stream doesn’t say it got saved, but they do.

    Avatar of Jeff Sayre
    Jeff Sayre
    Participant

    @jeffsayre

    Haha! You are correct! This must be a bug. Otherwise, it seems useless to have a message saying you have to do something when in fact you don’t.

    Avatar of John James Jacoby
    John James Jacoby
    Keymaster

    @johnjamesjacoby

    My guess (and this is a long-shot) is that you cannot leave the field blank once you’ve entered something in there, but BuddyPress also won’t lock you into that screen if it is.

    Otherwise users could find themselves in all sorts of redirect problems going from profile group to group.

    I haven’t tried that part yet myself though.

    If there’s 5 required fields on the page, and you fill in 4 of them, in my opinion it should still save the 4 you filled in.

    Avatar of Jeff Sayre
    Jeff Sayre
    Participant

    @jeffsayre

    I have filed this ticket in trac to report this bug.

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.