Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

functions.php and bp-custom.php

• David
    Participant

@dlabbe

I am new to BP and in my early stages of learning php so please be easy on me. I am trying to learn the inner working of BP, but I can’t find the functions.php nor the bp-custom.php files. can someone please direct me to where I can find the file. I have read to documentation, but those file are not where they should be found or am I looking over something? I looked for (wp-content/plugins/bp-custom.php.)…not there. Thanks for any help in advance.

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • bp-custom does not exist until you create it. functions.php lives in the theme root

ovizii
    Participant

@ovizii

where would I create bp-custom.php? I want to use that one as I haven’t decided upon a final theme yet so I’d rather go with bp-custom.php

Pisanojm
    Participant

@pisanojm

You can create this and put directly into your plugins directory (something like the following):

public/wp-content/plugins

ovizii
    Participant

@ovizii

do I have to manually activate it or is buddypress looking for it and loads it by default?
    cause otherwise I’d rather put it into mu-plugins if I need to activate it anyway…

Null question: try it and see ;)

ovizii
    Participant

@ovizii

it loads automatically but doesn’t seem to support comments. i.e. this content:

`/*customize all slugs*/
    /*define( ‘BP_ACTIVATION_SLUG’, ‘activate’ );*/
    define( ‘BP_ACTIVITY_SLUG’, ‘actions’ );
    /*define( ‘BP_BLOGS_SLUG’, ‘journals’ );*/
    `

will properly apply the uncommented line but simply print out the commented lines. will therefore stick with wp-config.php

Roger Coathup
    Participant

@rogercoathup

You should set your slugs in wp-config.php

Comments should be fine in bp-custom.php – there must some error in the way you have the file set up