Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Member and Groups CSS differentiation

• piccs3o
    Participant

@steve-kelsey

Hi, I am running the Buddypress default theme on my test site http://www.irrilium.com/SecretPlan and have hit a snag.

I would like to differentiate the look of the Members page and the Groups page.

I am looking to have a different Group Avatar size to the Members Avatar and also introduce a background image to the Groups item list div

However both pages use the same class for both the Avatars and the item list which means changes to Groups effects Members which is admirably efficient but reduces customisation options..

I am new to PHP and CSS so am unsure on how to proceed.

I am guessing that I need to introduce at least one sub-class for both the avatar and item list to gain the differentiation I need within the child theme, replicating the directory structure used by the Buddypress default theme within the child theme. That way I can customise Groups using the new avatar class and item list class and adjust the default theme CSS via the child theme to get the Members page looking the way I want.
    Is this the correct method? It seems like a big mod for a relatively simple change. Am I missing a simpler way of getting the members page and the Groups page to look different.

I would be grateful for any suggestions.

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • If you look at the body element and swap between the pages you should see various different classes applied depending on page being viewed. You should be able to use these classes to effect descndent selector styling, in other words you will add a class from the body element at the start of your selector group e.g:

body.groups #id .class {}
    body.directory #id .class {}
    body.profile #id .class {}
    etc

The question of these classes has been raised and improvements to them have been committed to 1.3 to make it a little easier to use these hooks for styling.