Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Need static pages with BuddyPress in Community section

• katemgilbert
    Participant

@katemgilbert

I am new to both WPMU and BuddyPress. I want to create a site where BuddyPress is in a Community tab, like helloecoliving.com, and the rest of the site is static and controlled only be admin. Can someone direct me to instructions/tutorials on how to create static pages, and house BuddyPress within a section rather than have it be the root?

I followed another forum thread and set the static homepage to one page (root) and blog posts to blog page. But I need to know how to modify the homepage/root with a custom template.

I am also unclear whether or not I need to use only buddypress-compliant themes across this site, when buddypress is only one part of it.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

• Andrea Rennick
    Participant

@andrea_r

“Can someone direct me to instructions/tutorials on how to create static pages, “

Go to the admin area of the main blog, find the Pages menu, click Add New.

You only need a BP theme on the blog using BP. (in your case, the Community blog)

symm2112
    Participant

@symm2112

Hmm. So like the helloecoliving.com site, you can set up wpmu and load buddypress on a subblog like community? I thought that bp had to reside on the root install. I apologize if I sound like an idiot for not realizing that, but is that the case? This might be the answer to my problem where I can have a standard wordpress site/theme for the root, but a bp enabled theme for the community blog.

BuddyPress can run on a sublog. All you need is this in your wp-config.php:

define ( 'BP_ROOT_BLOG', 2 );

Will make BuddyPress run on blog ID 2, for example. For other handy commands, see https://codex.buddypress.org/how-to-guides/changing-internal-configuration-settings/

John James Jacoby
    Keymaster

@johnjamesjacoby

@katemgilbert

Are you using WordPress MU or normal WordPress?