Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Question: WordPress User Roles and BuddyPress

• Hi (and thanks in advance for your replies):

I am new to the software stack, but I just now successfully installed and configured WordPress 3.0.1 with the current version of BuddyPress, the PageLines Platform Theme and several WordPress plug-ins.

My goal is to have a private community site, and I seem to have that now, but I’d like to understand the relationship between WordPress roles and BuddyPress members. If my goal with this site is primarily to support members who participate in group discussions and perhaps comment on articles that I post (as a WordPress admin or author), should I only give those users Subscriber roles? It’s not clear to me what BuddyPress members are allowed to do independently or dependent of their WordPress user role status. I’d appreciate a little explanation.

Thank you.

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Other than site admin checks, BuddyPress doesn’t use or check for specific roles or capabilities anywhere. So, in terms of regular users, there is no difference between a subscriber and a contributor for the BuddyPress features.

Thank you Paul.

I forgot to add it’s something we’re adding to BuddyPress 1.3, however.

pabloroboto

@pabloroboto

Desha – good question. Paul – thanks for chiming in. What’s confusing, however, is that if I leave the “subscriber” role selected as the default for new users as part of the WP admin panel, a new user can still access the admin panel (and perform the normal Buddypress participation activities also). That said, if I select “blocked.” the user cannot see the /wp-admin console at all, but can still interact with the social/buddypress features …

Could you please provide some insight on why/how that happens?

Thanks again — great plugin!