Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Using divs instead of tables in Profiles layout

• houfton
    Participant

@houfton

I have not been able to find anything about this. [Is there no search box for the forums or am I being stupid?]

The profile-fields loop in bp-default uses a table layout. I have seen divs used in a premium plugin (buddydev’s cosmicbuddy). I think that a non-table layout would give the flexibility I need, particularly as member Profiles is probably going to be the most important component for the site. Is there any well-known way to do this before I have a go myself and perhaps try to reinvent the wheel. (OK it is a very tiny wheel!)

I am just starting out with a clean install of BuddyPress 1.5.4 on WordPress 3.3.1 and am making a child theme of bp-default.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

• Paul Wong-Gibbs
    Keymaster

@djpaul

You’ll just need to put the relevant templates into your child theme, and change the markup as you want.

houfton
    Participant

@houfton

Thank you. That seems very obvious now you say it!

I have been trying to add ids to my divs using a sanitised version of the field name eg First Name becomes `

`.

I have tried using WordPress functions like `sanitize_title(bp_the_profile_field_name())` but this does not work. How should it be done?

houfton
    Participant

@houfton

In case anybody is interested (!) I found a solution using the bp_field_css_class function: `<div>`. This gives my divs a class name based on the field name eg: `

`.

The trouble I have now is that the profile loop seems to be ignoring the styles in my child theme’s style.css file – apart from the body tag styles which it applies. I can’t work that one out at the moment.

Hugo Ashmore
    Keymaster

@hnla

> I have seen divs used in a premium plugin (buddydev’s cosmicbuddy).