Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

”There was an error deleting [user] from the system. Please try again.”

• Mark
    Participant

@codeispoetry

I am a site admin trying to delete a user account. What could be causing this rather uninformative error: “There was an error deleting [user] from the system. Please try again.” ?

I have toggled the “disable user account deletion” in general settings; doesn’t have an effect.

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)

• Boone Gorges
    Keymaster

@boonebgorges

How are you trying to delete the user? From the WP Dashboard? Does the problem persist when BuddyPress is turned off?

Mark
    Participant

@codeispoetry

@boonebgorges Sorry, I wasn’t very explicit. I am visiting the user’s profile while logged in as an admin, which gives me the Admin options in the admin bar, including the option to “delete this user”. That way, it doesn’t work.

I’m sure I can delete the user from within the WordPress interface, but that is what I want to avoid. So I want to find out what could be causing this BP error.

Mark
    Participant

@codeispoetry

WP3.0, BP1.2.5, BP default theme BTW

r-a-y
    Keymaster

@r-a-y

@codeispoetry – Try upgrading to BP 1.2.5.2.
    There was a bug in deleting a member or marking a member as spam.

Mark
    Participant

@codeispoetry

Thanks, that helped!

suzette1970

@suzettekussnercom

I am using BP 1.2.5.2 and I am still getting the error. Anyone have any ideas?

Falcon Show
    Participant

@falconshow

Same here, BuddyPress 1.2.5.2, WordPress 3.01 and can’t delete users.

helpy
    Participant

@helpy

using 1.2.6 … getting the same error.

deleted user from WP dashboard … but user still exist in BP …. :-(

EDIT: Answer:
    Admin can not delete other user if the option “user cannot delete itself” is enabled!
    temporarily disable the option, delete user, enable option again.

cu, guido

pnm
    Participant

@pnmisha

@helpy