Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

2 sites (wordpress/public side + buddypress/private side), same content

• Hi all,

Im fairly new to buddy press/wordpress but I need some help to do the following:

– Private buddypress network built with theme A, with users as authors publishing content, with buddy press features private to registered members only, not indexed by google and other search engines, and located at progressivetalks.com/network

– Public wordpress site built with theme B, with no registered users, content (including photos) pulled from content published by authors on the buddypress site and indexed by google, etc, located at progressivetalks.com

The basic idea is that I want to provide a service where authors of my site publish content and can network amongst themselves, but this content is pushed to a public website where our readers can see the articles in a more attractive template (a magazine template from colorlabs) and can only comment on the articles.

Originally I wanted to have one site, with buddypress, and use the colorlabs template, but I am having lots of issues getting buddypress working with the template – probably something to do with the framework…

Any suggestions as to how I can achieve what I want to do?

Thanks for your help!

Viewing 2 replies - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

• @mercime
    Keymaster

@mercime

@jakeyboy1989

1. Create a Network in subdirectory structure

2. Set which blog ID BuddyPress will run on: For example, your new sudirectory, /network is the first subsite you created (therefore with ID #2), then add this to your wp-config.php
    `define ( ‘BP_ROOT_BLOG’, 2 );`

3. Install and activate BuddyPress. Go through Installation Wizard.