Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Top
Bottom

Can groups be merged before deletion so the data and members from one goes into another?

  • Profile photo of bplove
    bplove
    Participant

    @bplove

    Can groups be merged before deletion so the data and members from one goes into another?

    Is this possible?

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of Boone Gorges
    Boone Gorges
    Keymaster

    @boonebgorges

    It’s not possible (without doing some fancy MySQL work), but it’s a really nice idea (kinda like how WP handles user content when the user is deleted). Maybe you could file an enhancement ticket on http://trac.buddypress.org?

    It is an interesting idea, yet when one thinks about how groups are often used i.e to provide separate and distinct content, then merging one into another would perhaps not be wanted, as the merge to group suddenly has a lot of odd content in it that doesn’t belong. If the ticket is created then I would suggest – perhaps obviously – that it would be an optional choice to either delete for all eternity or to select a group to merge data to.

    Profile photo of Boone Gorges
    Boone Gorges
    Keymaster

    @boonebgorges

    @hnla Of course, it would have to be optional. Generally I think this points to a larger issue of BP data portability – but that’s probably a collection of tickets :)

    Yep, reckon around a googols worth I’ll handle the first 700,000 but it will require a big push from the community to handle the rest.

    Profile photo of bplove
    bplove
    Participant

    @bplove

    @boonebgorges Can you point me to the dev plan for buddypress – where it is planning on going for the next few versions kind of thing, I remember seeing that around at some point.
    Gratitude Boone! :) (Or for that matter anyone else who can answer my questions..:)

    You mean ‘Roadmaps’? Last discussion we had seemed to think they were not that important.

    https://trac.buddypress.org/roadmap

    Or:

    https://buddypress.org/about/roadmap/

    You can create a ticket under the 1.3 milestone as an enhancement.

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • The topic ‘Can groups be merged before deletion so the data and members from one goes into another?’ is closed to new replies.
Skip to toolbar