Member upset that thier BuddyPress profile is showing up in Google
A member created an account (and a profile) on the copy of BuddyPress I installed a few months ago. Today I get a frantic email telling me that their profile was showing up on Google and I was asked to remove it.
When I logged in as admin, I was able to visit their profile and navigate to “Profile/Public”. I assume that the information this member provided in their profile was supposed to be public and that they would have known when they added the information that it was public. Yes?.
I’ve typed their name/email into Google and I can see a LOT of other profiles and places where they created an account, added profiles and posted various things so I’m guessing that most profiles are supposed to be “public” and that this is normal?.
I’d also like to know if there is a built-in (or plugin) method of making profiles private if possible as well as how to deal with this particular member.
Finally, which file would I need to edit in order to change “Profile” to “Public Profile” on the sign-up page?.
Any help is greatly appreciated as I have no idea what to do now.
UPDATE: After the initial 50 or so sign-ups that occurred when the BuddyPress script went up, everything came to a screeching halt and I have noticed that accounts are gradually disappearing. Today, I looked at my public chat logs and discovered why. Members are deleting their accounts because they are concerned about their privacy and especially their profile details showing up in Google.
Thank you, Birdy
- The topic ‘Member upset that thier BuddyPress profile is showing up in Google’ is closed to new replies.