Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Top
Bottom

Deleting and Merging Users

  • Avatar of Creede
    creede
    Participant

    @creede

    I have two separate issues with users that I am looking to solve.

    First the easy one. I have a user profile that was set up and had some activity. I later deleted the user from the WPMU list, but it still shows up in buddypress and is available for invites etc. How do I go about deleting this user? I assume that I just need to get into the sql table and delete the information from there?

    Second, I am having problems with my user profile (admin) and group invites. The problem appears to be isolated to my profile, so it seems like the fix is to simply abandon the profile and start a new one. My concern is that I will lose administration over the groups created with that profile, and I will loose the friends associated with it. Is there anyway I can merge it into a new profile, or hard code group administration and friends into a new user?

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Avatar of Creede
    creede
    Participant

    @creede

    Update. #1 I was able to find the row in wp_bp_friends where the deleted member was still showing up as a confirmed friend. Once I dropped that row, the member no longer shows up for invites.

    Avatar of Gogoplata
    gogoplata
    Participant

    @gogoplata

    The second issue should be as easy as creating a new user then going into the database and changing the group admin user id from the admin’s (likely 1) to the ID of your new user. It should be as simple as that.

    Avatar of Andy Peatling
    Andy Peatling
    Keymaster

    @apeatling

    The profile data should be removed when you delete the user. The Xprofile component was missing a ‘wpmu_delete_user’ action call, I’ve added that now.

    Avatar of Gogoplata
    gogoplata
    Participant

    @gogoplata

    Thanks Andy!

    Avatar of Creede
    creede
    Participant

    @creede

    Thanks guys. I have created a new user and I have updated the wp_bp_friends rows so that the new user has all the friends of my old admin. Same with groups. Looks like it should work fine now.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

The topic ‘Deleting and Merging Users’ is closed to new replies.