Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Problem with Nav in IE 7 + IE8 – I’m on aMac so can’t test it, can you help?

• rossagrant
    Participant

@rossagrant

Hi guys,

I’m having an issue reported to me that in IE 7 and sometimes 8 the navigation that is supposed to be in the top right of my site is coming way to far down the page and looks terrible.

Could any IE 7 or 8 users try my homepage out at http://www.actonthis.co and see if you get the same error.

The navigation consists of icons and text and should be in the top right.

Would be so very grateful for any advice. I have no experience with IE sadly.

Boris has been looking into this for me but we can’t recreate it in all instances of computers using IE7 + IE8.

Thanks for your time!
    :)

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

• hloti
    Participant

@hloti

hi i have just checked your website. it looks fine in IE8 but the menus are totally not looking good at all in IE7. i have read many places that buddypress support for IE7 is not there at all. the only thing you actually can do is to do some hacks for IE7 this is to say, find out exactly the sections that do not work, then add css tags that will only be read by IE7. lets say for example if you have a problem with width of 1200px and you want the width to be specifically 100% in case of IE7, then do like this

width:1200px;
    *width:100%;

in the above case, all browsers will read the width as 1200px but only IE7 and probably IE6 will read it as 100%
    well this solution is not a clean and nice solution. but it is quick and it works. i had a similar problem with my site and solved it through this. hope you can use this suggestion.

it seems in your case it is the header that pushes the navwrap down in case of IE7 :)

cheers
    Hloti

@mercime
    Keymaster

@mercime

@rossagrant you can see how your site is rendered in different IE versions via http://ipinfo.info/netrenderer/

[ edit ] Some future-proof tricks to use with IE