Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Top
Bottom

Possible bug in BuddyPress – user deleting his own account

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

  • bp-help
    Participant

    @bphelp

    @michaeltransmissions
    I can’t replicate your issue I just logged in as a test user and deleted an account and the message displayed is:

    test user1 was successfully deleted.

    I am using the most stable versions of WP/BP and the twenty thirteen theme JFYI.


    danbp
    Moderator

    @danbp

    verify that you have pretty permalinks enabled and activate/deactivate/re activate (and save)
    Allow registered members to delete their own accounts in BP settings


    michaeltransmissions
    Participant

    @michaeltransmissions

    I can verify that I have pretty permalinks turned on, using the ‘post name’ setting.


    danbp
    Moderator

    @danbp

    dashboard > settings > buddypress

    Have you enabled Account Settings component and his page ?
    Have you allowed registered members to delete their own accounts ?

    Otherwise, open a new ticket and give any details to reproduce your issue.


    michaeltransmissions
    Participant

    @michaeltransmissions

    Verifying your questions

    I can verify that Account Settings is checked on the BuddyPress Components tab of the BP settings page. Also I can verify that on the Buddypress Settings tab on the BP settings page that ‘Account Deletion’ is checked. I can provide screenshots if that is helpful.

    Here is my process of trying to delete:

    When I am logged into WP as a non-admin user, I see the user menu in the upper right. When rolling over it, I see the full menu and rolling over the settings menu item I see the submenu with the ‘Delete Account’ option. When I click that I go to a page https://[domain]/members/%5Bmember-name%5D/settings/delete-account/. This is the profile page with the Settings/Delete Account Tab already selected, some warning text about deleting an account being irrecoverable, a checkbox ‘I understand the consequences’ and the Delete Account button. When I check the box and click the button, it just returns me back to the delete page with an unchecked checkbox. No action seems to be taken and no warning appears.

    Thanks,
    Michael


    danbp
    Moderator

    @danbp

    Used theme name and/or site URL please !


    bp-help
    Participant

    @bphelp

    @michaeltransmissions
    Being that this is an isolated bug on your particular installation that I could not replicate I am fairly certain it is a theme or maybe even a plugin you are using.
    Edit:
    @danpbp beat me to the question of the theme


    michaeltransmissions
    Participant

    @michaeltransmissions

    Solved the problem — turns out when I migrated the site from one server to another, it didn’t upload the wp-admin/ajax-actions.php file. Once I discovered this (from another problem) the delete problem resolved itself.

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • The topic ‘Possible bug in BuddyPress – user deleting his own account’ is closed to new replies.
Skip to toolbar