Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Top
Bottom

New member gets full name from previous aborted registration attempt

  • Avatar of Peterverkooijen
    peterverkooijen
    Participant

    @peterverkooijen

    This looks to me like a potentially disastrous bug.

    I have a clean install of the latest non-beta WPMU and Buddypress releases. I tried to register a new test user:

    username: whatever

    email address: peter@oneofmyaccounts.com

    full name: Test Userman

    I received an error message, because I had already used the same email address for another test user. So I tried again with another email address:

    username: pointlessusername

    email address: peter@mumbairelated.com

    full name: Raj Frommumbai

    Registration went through this time but resulting in an account with this mix:

    username: pointlessusername

    email address: peter@mumbairelated.com

    full name: Test Username

    Apparently WordPress MU user data and WordPress X-Profile user data don’t synchronize, play nice. That is crucial if you want to rely on Buddypress for member registration and management!

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Avatar of Jeff Sayre
    Jeff Sayre
    Participant

    @jeffsayre

    Peter-

    Are you using BP v1.0.1 or 1.0.2? i believe there was an issue with cookies that could cause this problem in v1.0.1.

    Did you clear your browser’s cache in between registration attempts?

    Avatar of Peterverkooijen
    peterverkooijen
    Participant

    @peterverkooijen

    WordPress MU 2.7.1 + BuddyPress 1.0.1.

    Was this issue fixed in version 1.0.2? I will upgrade, test and report back, but any info on this from your side is appreciated.

    Clearing the browser cache should not be necessary. Regular users could try registering different accounts from the same computer as well. You can’t tell them to first clear the cache before trying to register.

    Yes.

    Avatar of Peterverkooijen
    peterverkooijen
    Participant

    @peterverkooijen

    OK, upgraded to 1.0.2.

    Deleting the earlier test users to “free up” some email addresses I can use for testing. Why do deleted members remain in wp_signups? Is that necessary?

    Deleting those users manually in phpmyadmin…

    Then testing registering with an email address that I had used before:

    testuser

    peter@testaccount.net

    Peter Testuserman

    The expected error message:

    Sorry that email address is already used

    Reloading register page.

    mumbaitest

    peter@mumbaiaccount.com

    Raj Mumbaiman

    Congratulations, you are now registered!

    Your new username is: mumbaitest

    And this time the full name on the account is Raj Mumbaiman. So I guess 1.0.2 fixed the problem. :-)

    Leaving this long post here for reference and comments…

    Avatar of Burt Adsit
    Burt Adsit
    Participant

    @burtadsit

    This only happens in 1.0.1 when you use the same computer. Normal users signing up will not see this issue.

    Problem fixed in 1.0.2, closing.

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.