Re: Dealing With Unactivated Accounts
I believe any registration whose activation link is not clicked on within 2 days (maybe 3) is automatically deleted. You can test this be trying to register two accounts using the same email address.
Assuming the first registration’s activation email has not be acted upon, when you try to register another account right away with that same email address the signup process will inform you that the email address is already in use. However, if you wait until 48 hours have passed, it will allow you to use that email address because the previous inactivated registration has been deleted.
Again, it might be 72 hours. Either way, any registration that is not activated does get purged from the system.